The philosophy department is happy to announce that Robert Vanderbeek is this year’s winner of the Distinguished Graduate Student Teaching Award. This award is bestowed annually on the department’s best graduate student instructor. Decisions are based on student evaluations, faculty observations, and any other evidence that a graduate student has exceeded normal expectations in terms of effort and innovation. Previous winners include Ashli Anda (2021), Brittany Currie (2020), Seungil Lee (2019), Andrew Smith (2018), and Clay Alsup (2017). Set forth below is an open letter to the department announcing the department’s decision.


Open Letter